SharePoint Products Development & Deployment Permissions SharePoint Column Protector by Datapolis
 

SharePoint Column Protector by Datapolis SharePoint Column Protector by Datapolis

Send Inquiry
 The form could not be submitted
Claim This Business
SharePoint Column Protector by Datapolis

Product Summary

Developer
Price, US $
170.00
Licensing
Per Bundle
Free Trial

SharePoint Column Protector is a tool that widens standard SharePoint permission management capabilities. By default MOSS2007 / WSS 3.0 allows you to manage permissions per list element. Datapolis’ SharePoint Column Protector goes one level down and allows you to protect your data on per column basis. Permissions for columns are defined per content type for any SharePoint list. Permissions are effective for both forms and list views.

With SharePoint Column Protector you can choose which parameters of a list item are displayed for chosen users and which data can be edited by them.

Product’s Functions:

  • Hiding columns on SharePoint’s lists
  • Blocking data in columns for selected users
  • Security of data from given users without the necessity of blocking their permissions on full element on a list or document library
  • Blocking the edition of some data after adding it on a SharePoint list

Product’s Features:

  • Product easily managed, without the need of IT support
  • Safety- diagnostics mechanism included
  • Full integration with SharePoint platform
  • Management from www site level

 


Vendor response (February 15, 2001):

We've fixed the bugs connected with the list views accessibility. Now only the protected columns are hidden. All others columns are viewable. Moreover permissions are effective not only for item forms and list views/datasheet views, but also for the SharePoint alerts, attachments, Excel- and Access-exported data, and even for SharePoint Web Service. Please download and install the new version of Column Protector from our site. There are avaliable two versions of product 2007 and 2010 depending on SharePoint platform you are working on. More information about the product you can read in user guide. If you have any other questions or problems connected with our products, please contact us via email.


Editor review

SharePoint Column Protector by Datapolis 2008-12-08 14:10:41 Andy Dale
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Andy Dale    December 08, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Permission to Columns Sorted

Superb product. It is a great tool because now you can hide individual columns from users. For example, Payroll and Administration can share the same list but have different security levels. The Payroll Department can see the column that includes how much John Slater earns, but the Administration can only see his basic details.

The part I really like was the quick install. Just a few clicks and the software gave me a list of Portals where I might want to install the extra feature. Within two minutes and without having to read any manuals or pdf's I had added the 'Column Protector' to my SharePoint Sites. All my Lists, Document Libraries, even my Links all had an extra setting listed under 'Settings' called 'SharePoint Content Protector'. Brilliant, and I managed to work out the settings straight away on how to add permissions to columns.

Has to be tried to see how simplet to install it is and how powerful it can make your lists.

Product Reviews

Pros
Easy to install, effective, cheap. Different departments can now see different columns from the same list.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Rating 
 
2.0  (4)
Ratings (the higher the better)
Rating*
Product Reviews
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
SharePoint Column Protector by Datapolis 2012-09-02 07:21:23 Tanzim Akhtar
Rating 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Tanzim Akhtar    September 02, 2012

Pathetic support, no response at all

We installed trial version of SharePoint 2010 Column Protector and expected to work as they have written in the User Guide. However we faced an issue when we click on the License link in SharePoint Central Admin. We send them many emails and even tried to call but no response at all.
We thought since it is a trial version might be the support doesn't entertain. Hence we bought the product and the response is the same. This time different people from our company tried but still no response and now it is more than 2 weeks.
We are stuck with them. However we will go with the alternate product showed by one user here http://infowisesolutions.com/product.aspx?id=SmartListLite.

Product Reviews

Pros
Good in selling them
Cons
Forget you after the product is sold
Version Reviewed
SharePoint 2010 Column Protector by Datapolis
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
SharePoint Column Protector by Datapolis 2011-06-10 19:36:26 Victor Shamanovsky
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Victor Shamanovsky    June 10, 2011

free alternative

I tested a trial version of this product and it does work as advertised, no problems.

However, I also found an alternative free/lite version of another product that may suit most people's needs.

SmartListLite by Infowise:

http://infowisesolutions.com/product.aspx?id=SmartListLite

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
SharePoint Column Protector by Datapolis 2010-02-03 22:33:43 Gah!
Rating 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Gah!    February 03, 2010

Can't get it to work 2

I installed the trial. I have set one column in the list to be protected. Now users are denied access to any view that contains that column. Not what I had in mind...either

Was this review helpful to you? 
01
Report this review
SharePoint Column Protector by Datapolis 2009-12-11 22:23:17 Angela French
Rating 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Angela French    December 11, 2009

Can't get it to work

I installed the trial. I have set one column in the list to be protected. Now users are denied access to any view that contains that column. Not what I had in mind.

Was this review helpful to you? 
12
Report this review
 
Powered by JReviews
© 2013 SharePoint Smart LLC. All rights reserved.